Walkin’ on Broken Glass

Fact: I have broken more dishes in the past month than I have in the entire time I’ve had my own dishes to break. Terrible omen or nudge from above to shop for new dishes? I think the answer is clear.

The casualties include

  • 1 dinner plate, but it was cracked and threatening to break for months, I swear. Totally not my fault.
  • 2 (or 3?) juice glasses. Flimsy little things.
  • 2 wine glasses, including the victim pictured above. You may look at the photo and think, MB, if you would wash the glass right away instead of leaving it on the counter, you wouldn’t whack it with your sleeve two days later and send it crashing into the sink. And you would be right.
  • 1 decorative glass. A gift. Irreplaceable. I don’t want to talk about that one.

I’m one shattered cereal bowl away from something a little bit liiiiike this:

About mbdevilbiss

Until 2009, I never really thought much about Wisconsin. When I did, it was usually in the context of silent pep talks I'd give myself as I walked from the Metro station to my downtown D.C. office on blustery January mornings. "This isn't so bad," I'd tell myself. "Just imagine if you were in...Wisconsin!" *shiver* It wouldn't make me any warmer, but I could finish the 12-minute walk secure in the knowledge that I lived so, so far away from Canada. And then, one Saturday in early June, I went to a cookout and met a boy. He was wonderful and he was also moving to Madison, WI, to begin a PhD program in August. After a year of emails, phone calls, and biweekly visits, we shoved the last of my belongings into a jam-packed moving truck and headed west. As of October 9, 2010, I was an Accidental Wisconsonite. I'm no Sconnie, and I'll never be able to claim that prestigious status, but I'm loving life here so far. My blog is a place for writing about this life, and I hope you enjoy my Midwestern adventure as much as I have been.
This entry was posted in Listmania. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walkin’ on Broken Glass

  1. Christina says:

    At LAST!! Livejournal 2.0 – the midwestern version. I look forward to reading about your adventures. Since you never call, I’ll just have to stalk you this way. Hint, hint.

    Although I admit that your facebook pictures about paella and other equally delectable dishes make me jealous; so if this turns into a food blog, I may have to stop reading.

    Also, in posting this I am admitting that I already slipped on my Lent facebook sacrifice. I mean, I just opened it to see if anyone sent me any messages and happened to see this post in my newsfeed. Not my fault. And it’s not the same as the hours of facebook browsing that I would typically do, right? What if someone had an emergency and was trying to reach me through facebook?? It could happen. Wah.

    Peace, Evie.

  2. Ashley says:

    Ok, let me first address the fact that before I was able to post this comment, I was asked for my website address. Ummm, am I supposed to have a website? Am I that far behind in the world of technology?? Now that you’re blogging, I may need to step it up a bit. Watch out for jack’scrazymom.com coming to the Internet near you. HA! I need a glass of wine.

    On to more important topics like the fact that you ROCK. I’ve been waiting for you to start blogging. Honestly, you belong among the great bloggers of the world like Pioneer Woman and Jen Lancaster. Ok, so they may not be the “greatest” ever but they’re my faves and now I get to add you to my list. HOW LUCKY AM I?!?

    Excellent work. Muah!

    p.s. I laughed out loud when I read Christina’s “Peace,Evie” comment. Oh memories!!!

Leave a Reply

