The More You Know

Okay, first…watch this:

I am not a mother. I am not responsible for any individual’s oral health but my own. However, every time this helpful (?) commercial from the Wisconsin Dental Association airs, I start sputtering objections.

  1. Hi. Welcome to life. Teeth–all teeth–must to be brushed.
  2. The “They’re just baby teeth” attitude is only applicable in the event of minor chippage or crookedness.
  3. Let’s ignore the itty-bitty minor detail that baby teeth can get cavities too for just one quick second and consider the value of developing such a fundamental self-care habit as TEETH BRUSHING as early as possible. Like, I don’t know, from when a child has both teeth and dexterity?
  4. I didn’t lose my last baby tooth until, like, the sixth grade. By this mother’s measure, should I not have started brushing until puberty? Because, really, if there’s anything that can make puberty bearable, it’s halitosis.
  5. My almost-favorite part of this preposterous commercial is how absolutely incensed this mother is that someone is challenging her logic. Good thing the friendly WDA representative overheard and not someone from Child and Family Services.
  6. My favorite part, however, is the time lapse image of where this little cherub will be after a few years under her deadbeat mother’s care. Someone call an exorcist.

But I consider myself an optimist, so as far as silver linings go, I suppose she’ll have Halloween in the bag.

About mbdevilbiss

Until 2009, I never really thought much about Wisconsin. When I did, it was usually in the context of silent pep talks I'd give myself as I walked from the Metro station to my downtown D.C. office on blustery January mornings. "This isn't so bad," I'd tell myself. "Just imagine if you were in...Wisconsin!" *shiver* It wouldn't make me any warmer, but I could finish the 12-minute walk secure in the knowledge that I lived so, so far away from Canada. And then, one Saturday in early June, I went to a cookout and met a boy. He was wonderful and he was also moving to Madison, WI, to begin a PhD program in August. After a year of emails, phone calls, and biweekly visits, we shoved the last of my belongings into a jam-packed moving truck and headed west. As of October 9, 2010, I was an Accidental Wisconsonite. I'm no Sconnie, and I'll never be able to claim that prestigious status, but I'm loving life here so far. My blog is a place for writing about this life, and I hope you enjoy my Midwestern adventure as much as I have been.
This entry was posted in Listmania, Not That You Asked.... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

