Details

Since we’ll be spending lots of time together (virtually speaking, of course), I thought we should get acquainted. You should understand early on that I have an affinity for numbered lists, which is why I’ve devoted an entire category of posts to them. Let’s not get into what this says about me psychologically or what it reveals about the way my brain is wired and instead just enjoy a list of details that make me, me.

  1. I am 28 (and a half) years old and I’ve never had a driver’s license. I really, really hope to remedy this soon. Like, for real this time. I swear.
  2. I still have the saddle oxfords from my high school uniform. The upside of this is that I’m always prepared for any Catholic schoolgirl costume emergency that comes up. It’s paid off exactly zero times since I graduated in 2000.
  3. I am so allergic to cats that simply seeing images of multiple cats (hello, Animal Hoarders commercials) makes me panicky and agitated.
  4. My tonsils are freakishly, cartoonishly, unsettlingly large. Wanna see?
  5. I think Keanu Reeves is such a bad actor that I actually wrote an entire paper on the topic in college.
  6. I can list all 50 states in alphabetical order, but I’ll try to refrain from wasting an entire list post to prove it.
  7. Deep down, I really like filling out forms.
  8. I think I’ve been placed under a spell by Bravo TV. I know I should hate all Real Housewives, but I just…can’t…look away…
  9. The only thing standing between me and my dream of having fresh pizza dough on hand anytime I want it is my irrational fear of working with yeast. It’s just so…alive. Help!
  10. When I buy a new small kitchen appliance, I tend to store it in its original packaging when I’m not using it. I have no idea where this somewhat crazy and incredibly inconvenient practice originated, but I’ve been doing it for years, sort of in anticipation of needing a way to pack these awkwardly shaped and delicate items the next time I move. This weekend, after wrestling with the manufacturer’s boxes of my food processor, hand mixer, and waffle iron, I realized how incredibly dumb this approach is. So I threw all those boxes away. Today, sanity triumphs.

 

About mbdevilbiss

Until 2009, I never really thought much about Wisconsin. When I did, it was usually in the context of silent pep talks I'd give myself as I walked from the Metro station to my downtown D.C. office on blustery January mornings. "This isn't so bad," I'd tell myself. "Just imagine if you were in...Wisconsin!" *shiver* It wouldn't make me any warmer, but I could finish the 12-minute walk secure in the knowledge that I lived so, so far away from Canada. And then, one Saturday in early June, I went to a cookout and met a boy. He was wonderful and he was also moving to Madison, WI, to begin a PhD program in August. After a year of emails, phone calls, and biweekly visits, we shoved the last of my belongings into a jam-packed moving truck and headed west. As of October 9, 2010, I was an Accidental Wisconsonite. I'm no Sconnie, and I'll never be able to claim that prestigious status, but I'm loving life here so far. My blog is a place for writing about this life, and I hope you enjoy my Midwestern adventure as much as I have been.
This entry was posted in Listmania. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Details

  1. Brigette says:

    oohhh how I miss you magdalene beatrice.

  2. Pingback: Conquering Fears, Eating Pizza | Accidental Wisconsonite

Leave a Reply

